USDA on Tuesday announced its decision on Farm Service Agency (FSA) county office consolidations proposed in January. In total, FSA will consolidate 125 of the 131 offices originally proposed for consolidation with other USDA service centers. The move is consistent with provisions of the 2008 farm bill. The six proposed county offices that will continue operating are: Lafayette County, Arkansas; Boulder County, Colorado; St. Mary Parish, Louisiana; Pamlico County, North Carolina; Mayes County, Oklahoma; and York County, South Carolina.

Click here to view a complete list of FSA county offices affected by this decision.

Two sets of criteria were used to identify FSA offices for consolidation.

First, USDA identified FSA offices located less than 20 miles from another FSA office that had two or fewer permanent, full-time employees. Additionally, the proposal included all FSA offices with zero permanent employees regardless of location. PD


—From USDA news release