• Dr. K. Larry Smith, professor emeritus at Ohio State University, has won the National Mastitis Council (NMC) Award of Excellence for Mastitis Prevention and Control.

Also announced were the 2013 NMC Scholars: Peter Down, University of Nottingham; Pamela Fry, University of Missouri – Columbia; Felipe de Freitas Guimarães, São Paulo State University; and Di Liang, University of Kentucky.

• Brad Scott of Moreno Valley, California, is the Holstein Foundation’s 2012 Young Dairy Leaders Institute (YDLI) Distinguished Alumni Leader Award recipient. Scott is a partner in his family business, Scott Brothers Dairy Farm. He is a graduate of YDLI Class 3.

• Kaitie Brawley, representing Marion County, was crowned the 2013 Oregon Dairy Princess-Ambassador during the 54th Annual Coronation Banquet hosted by the Oregon Dairy Women. PD


—From Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica Inc , University of Kentucky , Holstein Foundation , and Oregon Dairy Women news releases.