Dr. Mario Lopez, an employee of DeLaval, was recently appointed to a three-year term on the board of the National Mastitis Council (NMC). In this position, Dr. Lopez will help steer NMC directives. Board members of Midwest Dairy Association have elected officers at the corporate and division levels. Jerry Messer (chairman), Allen Merrill (vice chairman) and Bill Siebenborn (first vice chairman) will extend their service. New members elected include: Kristine Spadgenske, Minnesota; Gerrit Davelaar, Iowa; Doug Nuttelman, Nebraska; and Byron Lehman, Kansas.

The executive team is rounded out by secretary Ken Herbranson and treasurer Dan Grunhovd.

Elections took place at the Midwest Dairy Annual Meeting held in conjunction with a national dairy promotion forum in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Four students from Minnesota - Angela Sellner, Alisha Vander Wal, Joseph Hoffmann and Margaret Stiles - will receive a total of $5,000 in scholarships from Midwest Dairy Association’s South Dakota Division.

They were among those honored during the South Dakota State University (SDSU) Dairy Science Department scholarship banquet on April 2 in Brookings, where 95 scholarships worth $91,714 presented to undergraduate and graduate students.

  • Sellner has been active in 4-H and FFA and was a member of the SDSU dairy cattle judging team. She plans a career in the dairy industry, focusing on artificial insemination and replacement heifers with plans to eventually own a registered Holstein herd.
  • Vander Wal was on the Dean’s List each of her semesters and is active in SDSU Dairy Club and the Minnesota Junior Holstein Association. Her goal is to work in the dairy production industry.
  • Hoffmann is an incoming student in dairy production. He is an active 4-H member and plans to return to the dairy industry.
  • Stiles is an incoming student in dairy production. Her activities have included 4-H projects in dairy, beef and poultry. Stiles hopes to work in the dairy production sector after graduation from SDSU.

Students may apply for Midwest Dairy South Dakota Division scholarships through the SDSU application process. Click here for details.

Equity Cooperative Livestock Sales Association has awarded $500 scholarships to 10 students.

Recipients studying agriculture include Alicia Humphrey, Iowa State University; Tyler Herrmann, Ethan Giebel and Brian Lash, University of Wisconsin-Platteville; and Hunter Wojcik and Leah Christenson, University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

The winners were chosen from more than 75 applicants. PD

—From DeLaval, Inc., Midwest Dairy Association and Equity Cooperative Livestock Sales Association news releases