Princess Kay finalists named in Minnesota This year’s finalists for the title of Princess Kay of the Milky Way have been named. Princess Kay is crowned each year the night before the state fair opens. Twelve young women from dairy farm backgrounds were selected after a three-day event for county dairy princesses held in St. Joseph, Minnesota. The finalists are Kelsey Buss, Valerie Grimm, Victoria Haler, Meg Hintzen, Kirsten Meier, Laura Mesenburg, Kelsey Mussman, Elizabeth Nix, Christine Reitsma, Laura Rosenhammer, Aly Schwartau and Maggie Stiles. —From Midwest Dairy Association news release North Dakota dairy producers to lead AMPI Young Cooperators Mark and Angie Qual, dairy farmers from Lisbon, North Dakota, were elected the 2012 Young Cooperator (YC) chairpersons for Midwest dairy cooperative Associated Milk Producers, Inc. (AMPI).

“Being a part of the YC program is an excellent way for the next generation of AMPI members to start getting involved in their cooperative,” Qual says.

“The program gives members the opportunity to learn more about the processing, marketing and policy aspects of the dairy industry. Another perk of the program is the opportunity to network with other dairy producers and industry members by attending YC events.”

The Quals and their fellow YC steering committee members will lead the group in the coming year.

Other members of the committee are: vice chairpersons, Aaron and Jessica Radermacher, Brooten, Minnesota; secretaries, Jacob and Sarah Enter, Nicollet, Minnesota; members-at-large, Dustin and Courtney Dobberstein, New Richland, Minnesota; and members-at-large, Jeff and Amber Leuthold, Ellsworth, Minnesota. 


A total of 47 young AMPI members took part in the YC program, which was held in conjunction with AMPI's annual meeting. The gathering is one of many educational events available through the program, open to members age 40 and under.

—From Associated Milk Producers, Inc. news release

Vita Plus Loyal names agriculture scholarship winners in Wisconsin
Vita Plus Loyal introduced seven Wisconsin high school seniors as recipients of the 2012 Our Future Is Agriculture scholarships.

To be eligible for one of the $500 scholarships, students must plan to enroll in an accredited vocational/technical institute, community college or four-year college or university that offers an academic major in a field related to agriculture.

Two of the recipients plan to go into the dairy industry:

  1. Ashley Hemann plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – River Falls to major in agriculture studies. After college, Hemann hopes to work as a herdsperson at a large dairy or become a feed consultant.
  2. Samuel Nigon is employed at local dairy farms and does custom hay baling for a number of farmers. He plans to attend Lakeshore Technical College to study dairy herd management. One day, he hopes to own his own dairy farm milking high producing, quality animals.

—From Vita Plus Loyal

Accelerated Genetics awards scholarships to agriculture students
Every year Accelerated Genetics awards scholarships to youth both just entering and already enrolled in college who are working towards an agricultural-related degree.

Four $500 scholarships were awarded to youth graduating from high school and beginning college. The 2012 recipients are:

  • Bethany Dadohas of Amery, Wisconsin, who plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – Madison and major in genetics and dairy science.
  • Karsen Haag of Mt. Horeb, Wisconsin, who plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – Platteville and major in agribusiness. She wants to educate consumers about the dairy industry and the value it brings Americans.
  • Will Marshall of Eureka, Nevada, who plans to attain a bachelor of science degree in animal science with a minor in agri-business at the Oklahoma State University.
  • Matthias Olson of Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, who plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – Madison to study life sciences communications.

In addition, two $1,000 scholarships are awarded to students currently enrolled in college agricultural programs. Accelerated Genetics works with the National FFA organization to select these students. The 2012 recipients are Kyle Tate of Mountain Grove, Missouri, and Laura Hornby of Viroqua, Wisconsin.

Tate is attending the Colorado State University – Fort Collins, majoring in animal breeding and genetics. Laura Hornby is majoring in agronomy and crop science at the University of Wisconsin – Platteville.

—From Accelerated Genetics news release

The 2012 Princess Kay of the Milky Way finalists are, back row, left to right: Aly Schwartau, Valerie Grimm, Elizabeth Nix, Kirsten Meier, Kelsey Buss, Maggie Stiles and Kelsey Mussman. Front row, left to right, are: Laura Rosenhammer, Victoria Haler, Laura Mesenburg, Meg Hintzen and Christine Reitsma. Photo courtesy of Midwest Dairy Association.