Herrington Farms Inc. of Troy, New York, was awarded as the Grand Champion Forage Producer with their brown midrib (BMR) corn silage and was presented $2,500 from Kemin Animal Nutrition & Health for that honor. The Grand Champion First-Time Entrant cash award of $2,000, sponsored by New Holland, went to Marty Farms of Sterling, Ohio.

Additionally, two Quality Counts Awards were presented to competitors. In the area of Quality Counts Corn Silage, Kensinger Farms, Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, took home top honors, sponsored by Silostop. The top award for the Quality Counts Hay/Haylage went to Legacy Farms, Shell Lake, Wisconsin, and was sponsored by Croplan by WinField.

Sponsors of the 2021 World Forage Analysis Superbowl were led by platinum sponsor, Brevant seeds. Other supporters included division sponsors, Ag-Bag by RCI, Agri-King Inc., Barenbrug USA, Lallemand Animal Nutrition, Nexgrow Alfalfa, Scherer Inc. and W-L Research. Additional funds were provided by Micro Technologies, Passion Ag Inc. and Provimi.

The top five placings from each category are:

Grand Champion Baleage – Sponsored by Agri-King Inc.

First place – Jenks Jerseys, Marathon, Wisconsin
Second place – Denmar Acres, Greenleaf, Wisconsin
Third place – Eric Speltz, Altura, Minnesota
Fourth place – Coulee Crest LLC, Cashton, Wisconsin
Fifth place – Freysbush Dairy LLC, Fort Plain, New York


Grand Champion Commercial Hay – Sponsored by Nexgrow Alfalfa

First place – Hardrock Farms Inc., Wheatland, Wyoming
Second place – Carlson Brothers Farm, Jewell, Iowa
Third place – Little Hay Company, Wilsonville, Nebraska
Fourth place – Calvin Carlson, Jewell, Iowa
Fifth place – Lazy 2K Livestock, Wheatland, Wyoming

Grand Champion Dairy Hay – Sponsored by W-L Research

First place – Olson Farms, Lena, Wisconsin
Second place – Donald and Nancy Hasselquist, Osceola, Wisconsin
Third place – Mark Rueth, Oxford, Wisconsin
Fourth place – E & A Milkers, Sigourney, Iowa
Fifth place – Schroeder Farms, Odebolt, Iowa

Grand Champion Grass Hay – Sponsored by Barenbrug USA

First place – Cozy Nook Farm, Waukesha, Wisconsin
Second place – Lazy 2K Livestock, Wheatland, Wyoming
Third place – Hardrock Farms Inc., Wheatland, Wyoming
Fourth place – Donald and Nancy Hasselquist, Osceola, Wisconsin
Fifth place – Stefan Hay Company, North Collins, New York

Grand Champion Alfalfa Haylage – Sponsored by Ag-Bag by RCI

First place – Todd Mark, Elmwood, Wisconsin
Second place – Opportunity Acres, Lena, Wisconsin
Third place – Ciolkosz Dairy, Thorp, Wisconsin
Fourth place – Mike Redetzke, Colby, Wisconsin
Fifth place – Sand Creek Dairy, Hastings, Michigan

Grand Champion Mixed/Grass Haylage – Sponsored by Lallemand Animal Nutrition

First place – Opportunity Acres, Lena, Wisconsin
Second place – Morning View Dairy LLC, Merrill, Wisconsin
Third place – Leuer Dairy, Oconto, Wisconsin
Fourth place – Legacy Farms, Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Fifth place – Four Cubs Farm, Grantsburg, Wisconsin

Grand Champion Standard Corn Silage – Sponsored by Scherer Inc.

First place – Egan Family Dairy, Omro, Wisconsin
Second place – Herrington Farms Inc., Troy, New York
Third place – Jenson Family Farms, Elk Mound, Wisconsin
Fourth place – Enos Lehman, Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Fifth place – Olson Farms, Lena, Wisconsin

Grand Champion BMR Corn Silage – Sponsored by Brevant Seeds

First place – Rothlisberger Dairy, Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Second place – Larry Doody, Tully, New York
Third place – Old Acres Farms, Perry, New York
Fourth place – Conrad Farms, Grafton, Ohio
Fifth place – Harold Zimmerman, Shiloh, Ohio

The World Forage Analysis Superbowl is organized in partnership between Dairyland Laboratories Inc., Hay & Forage Grower, U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center, University of Wisconsin and World Dairy Expo. To learn more, visit the World Forage Analysis Superbowl website.  end mark

—From a World Forage Analysis Superbowl news release