The Wisconsin Holstein Association will award 16 outstanding members up to $12,000 in scholarships at the annual Junior Holstein Convention in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Dec. 28-30. Scholarships are awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields as well as recognizing the Distinguished Junior Members representing Wisconsin at the national contest.

Austen Schmidt of Cascade, Wisconsin, will receive the Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Berg was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville, Wisconsin. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Schmidt is the 19-year-old son of James and Dina Schmidt and is attending University of Wisconsin – Madison Farm and Industry Short Course and plans to return to the home farm.

Also receiving a two-year scholarship will be Lexa Miller of Vesper, Wisconsin, and John Kosmalski, Rosholt, Wisconsin.

Receiving the Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Cassandra Krull of Lake Mills. Krull is the 18-year-old daughter of Cindy Krull and the late Brian Krull and is attending Allen County Community College in Iola, Kansas. Morris and her husband Arden, along with his brother Maldwyn and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for more than 40 years.

Laura Elliott of Marshall will receive the Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Fust who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau, Wisconsin. Elliott is the 21-year-old daughter of Ken and Kathy Elliott and is attending the University of Wisconsin – Madison, majoring in dairy science and life science communications.


In addition, seven more well deserving Wisconsin Holstein Juniors will receive four-year scholarships. They include: Breinne Hendrickson, Belleville, Wisconsin; Josh Joseph, Viola, Wisconsin; Erin Kappelman, Two Rivers, Wisconsin; Stephanie Nagel, Valders, Wisconsin; Ryan O’Leary, Brandon, Wisconsin; Kathryn Wendorf, Viroqua, Wisconsin; and Abbey Wethal, Brooklyn, Wisconsin.

The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the Junior Holstein Convention banquet in December and each will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship. PD

—From Wisconsin Holstein news release