Women involved in agriculture from throughout the U.S. and Canada met in Wichita, Kansas, recently for the 36th annual American Agri-Women (AAW) convention. They elected officers, recognized outstanding contributors – and gathered information and resources to advocate for agriculture. AAW is a national coalition of more than 40,000 farm, ranch and agribusiness women, representing 60 state and commodity affiliates. National officers for 2012 are: • President: Karen Yost, Billings, Montana • First Vice President for Resolutions & Vital Issues: Sue McCrum, Mars Hill, Maine • Vice President Communications: Abby Amick, Alma, Kansas • Vice President Education: Lisa Condon, Horicon, Wisconsin • Secretary: Jody Elrod, Sinton, Texas • Treasurer: Peggy Clark, Dayton, Ohio • Past-President: Chris Wilson, Manhattan, Kansas


Dr. Barry Flinchbaugh, professor of ag economics at Kansas State University received the Veritas award for exemplifying the organization’s “pursuit of truth” ideal. He has had a distinguished career in academia, consulted with the U.S. Congress and others on ag policy and is the author of more than 100 publications.

Carol Chandler with California Women for Agriculture and Julie Tesch with Minnesota Agri-Women were presented with the Leaven award, the organization’s highest honor for members.

Convention speakers covered the latest issues in agriculture including sustainability, marketing, environmental topics, energy, estate planning, advocacy, and more. PD

—From AAW news release


TOP: American Agri-Women 2012 officers (from left) Chris Wilson, Peggy Clark, Jody Elrod, Karen Yost, Sue McCrum, Abby Amick, and Lisa Condon.
BOTTOM: AAW President Chris Wilson and Veritas Award Winner Dr. Barry Flinchbaugh.
Photos courtesy of AAW.