The National Dairy Herd Information Association (DHIA) Scholarship Committee selected 21 high school seniors and college students as recipients of $750 scholarships. Judges evaluated applicants on scholastic achievements, leadership in school and community activities, and responses to DHI- and career-related questions.

To be eligible for a National DHIA scholarship, applicants must be a family member or employee of a herd on DHI test, a family member of a DHI employee, or an employee of a DHI affiliate. The DHI affiliate for the herd or affiliate employee must be a National DHIA member.

This year’s National DHIA scholarship winners are:

  • Hannah Renea Bachman, Ulysses, Pennsylvania
  • Abigail Andrew Copenhaver, Corfu, New York
  • Nathan Daninger, Forest Lake, Minnesota
  • Elizabeth Fullerton, Argyle, New York
  • Rebecca Groos, Howard Lake, Minnesota
  • Thomas Harren, Eagle Bend, Minnesota
  • Chelsey Johnson, Heron Lake, Minnesota
  • Stephanie Luders, Bliss, New York
  • Aryn Martin, Gorham, Maine
  • Kathleen Miron, Hugo, Minnesota
  • Sara Roerick, Swanville, Minnesota
  • Alyson Schwartau, Red Wing, Minnesota
  • Justin Siewert, Lake City, Minnesota
  • Jacob Sjostrom, Lafayette, Minnesota
  • Matthew Sweeney, Appleton, New York
  • Joe Uter, Waverly, Minnesota
  • Megan Viland, Pipestone, Minnesota
  • Hannah Voelz, Tilleda, Wisconsin (Joe Drexler winner)
  • Nicholas Weber, Bernard, Iowa
  • Kaylee Wegner, Faribault, Minnesota
  • Clare Yeager, Manchester, Maryland

This year marks the fourth consecutive year for awarding a scholarship in memory of Joe Drexler, who worked for NorthStar Cooperative DHI Services. NorthStar members and employees, friends and family contributed nearly $10,000 to establish this scholarship fund. PD


—From National Dairy Herd Information Association news release